About Us

In 2002, the Center for Software Research & Development (CSRD) was established at 09 different universities of Pakistan including NED University, by the Ministry of Science & Technology and Telecommunication. The overall objective of the Endowment project is to consolidate and expand the Research and Development Programmes in the areas relating to I.T. & Telecommunication Sector.
  • To strengthen Postgraduate Research Programmes leading to Masters and Doctorate Degrees in various areas relating to I.T. & Telecommunication Sector.
  • To produce three (03) Ph.D. and Twelve (12) M.Engg/MCIT in disciplines relating to I.T. & Telecommunication Sector per year
  • To undertake Industrial Research Projects which would be substantially strengthen University-Industry liaison.


Our mission is to combine knowledge, hard work and enthusiasm in the areas of computer science & software engineering to be able to contribute to the software products development and research activities in our country.


The objective of this centre is to carry out research and development in the areas of computer science & software engineering. The CSRD will supervise PhD and MS theses and undergraduate projects in these areas.

Prof. Dr. Najeed Ahmed Khan
(July 2013-Till Now) 

Dr. Najeed Ahmed Khan, a distinguished expert in Computer Vision, proudly holds a PhD from the esteemed University of Leeds, United Kingdom. His research focus lies in the dynamic realm of medical imaging, where he has made significant contributions.
Dr. Khan's intellectual prowess is evident through his authorship of over 40 publications featured in renowned JCR and ISI indexed Journals. His dedication to advancing knowledge is truly commendable.
Recognized for his outstanding achievements, Dr. Khan has awarded 3 times ‘Best Teacher awards’ from NED Alumni Association of Southern California, USA and also earned the prestigious HEC National Centre for Artificial Intelligence (NCAI) for NED University, serving as a Co-Principal Investigator. Under his guidance, Five (05) PhD scholars have successfully completed their degrees, while an additional three (02) are currently benefiting from his mentorship.
Dr. Khan's impact extends beyond academia, with numerous National and International funding grants (RPKR 212.56 million) bestowed upon him for groundbreaking research. His unwavering commitment to innovation has garnered well-deserved recognition.
Presently, Dr. Najeed Ahmed Khan holds the position of Professor of Artificial Intelligence at NED University. Additionally, he serves as the Executive Officer & Caretaker of the MoST Chair Professor endowment. His role exemplifies leadership and expertise in shaping the future of Artificial Intelligence.
Dr. Najeed Ahmed Khan – a visionary in Computer Vision, a mentor shaping the next generation of scholars, and a trailblazer in the world of Artificial Intelligence always welcome researchers for collaborative research work.



Dr. Shamsul Haque
(July 2011-July 2013)  

was appointed as Professor of Computer Science.


Prof. Agathe Merceron
(Feb 2010- September 2010) 

Professor of Computer Science, Beuth University, Berlin
Germany was appointed as Professor of Computer Science. 


Dr. Ansar Ahmad Khan
(14 Feb 2006 to 30 July 2011)

was appointed as Professor of Computer Science.


Dr. Syed Salahuddin Hyder
(03-06-2003  to 13-02-2006)

was appointed as Visiting Faculty of Computer Science.